My city

My city breathes in a low hum

My city cries with a soft rain

My city is a child discovering the blemishes on her skin for the first time

My city moves with firm winds

My city leans on grey clouds

My city is a sublime steel rose growing in an auspicious dry garden

My city smiles in gold light

My city sleeps on short grass

My city is a cold foot poking out from under a blanket

My city yawns beneath shade

My city coughs white dust

My city is Melbourne. My city is me.

(Simon Taylor 2012)

On Tumblr

Leave a Reply

