Linguistic Twitterings

About an hour ago I posted the question on Twitter: what’s your favourite word?

To my geekface delight, people were quick to share. So I decided to write something that incorporated all these words. I love when the internet brings us all together. Fun xoxo

The List:

ambiguous

interrobang

skunktopus

facetious

glitter

hussy

serendipity

soliloquy

whose

rambunctious

pugnacious

sparkles

eloquent

floccinaucinihilipilification

The Piece:

The floccinaucinihilipilification of a skunktopus comes from the ambiguous nature of its definition. Many will be facetious in response to this soliloquy about it. Yet I do not intend to be pugnacious towards those whose lack of rambunctious, glitter-like excitement for language polarises them from me. Meaninglessness can be eloquent. Any old hussy can speak words of meaning. What sends linguistic sparkles though my synapses is a pure love of language. The way it sounds, looks, tastes. I especially love weaving  a random collection of words together with no meaning intended. These are words compiled from virtual strangers floating around the internet. Don’t you just love serendipity!?

I do.

5 thoughts on “Linguistic Twitterings

  1. Ohhh, that’s awesome!! I just missed out on adding my favourite word – quintessential. I set myself a challenge to use it once in every university essay / assignment – challenge achieved!!!

  2. there’s a great article on language in this week’s new scientist simon… it’s about how words can be ‘spiky’ or ’round’ across multiple languages etc. you’d like it.

Leave a Reply

